top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeka L. Rascoe

Something Special About Ivy Laika


This is my first time reading anything written by Ivy Laika, and I love her writing style. There's definitely something special about this author's writing voice.

The chemistry between best friends Kofi and Kya was sexy, their love was powerful and romantic, and I have no idea how these two managed to stay away from each other for as long as they did. I mean realistically, I understand why, but in romance world?! I'm surprised these two didn't burst into flames whenever they were near each other! 😂😂 Case in point: A specific question was asked that led to the hot as fire scene in the kitchen! No spoilers from me though! You'll have to read that part for yourself! 👀🔥🔥

I loved that Kya had a man like Kofi in her life because--hello?!! The stuff she had to put up with was beyond ridiculous! The boyfriend (ex) practically sucked the life from her! Of course, he only got the parts her family hadn't taken! My heart emphatically hurt for Kya, and I'm surprised she didn't sink into a deep depression. Kofi. Kofi. Kofi. Even men who are sexy, smart, and carry themselves as having all the confidence in the world can allow insecurities to sneak in every now and then. And for a while, his insecurities cost him the woman he had always loved. Once he recognized it and was truly ready to be the man that Kya needed beyond being her best friend, he really worked to make things right. It was that amazing friendship Kofi had with Kya that really gripped my heart and pulled me into this story. I loved how no matter what, Kofi was always there for her, supported her, and even gave her the space that she needed when she needed it. And just as she was his Queen, he was her warrior and protector when she needed him to be too. There was a genuine part of me that was thoroughly pleased when he lit old boy up! That trifling ex of Kya's deserved everything Kofi dished out and a whole lot more! I also give mad props to Kya for working to reclaim her life back and be the woman she was always meant to be. I just wished she had a better family though. My discussion of Kya's family may be a bit spoilerish, so I apologize in advance. Poor Kya though! She gave those folks so many chances to do right by her, and they never stepped up to the plate. Whatever amends they tried to make was weak and a bare minimum effort at best. But Kofi made sure she was loved, supported, and cared for. Since a lot of the story focused on Kya's family and how their treatment of her was essential to the way she saw herself, career choices, and relationships, I needed a bit more background on her parents. Why in the world were her parents like that?!🤷🏾‍♀️ I couldn't for the life of me understand Kya's mother's motivations for her actions and behaviors, or even why her dad always just went along with it?!🙄 There has be a story there. It amazes me that Kya came out of that kind of upbringing a kind-hearted and caring individual. Of course, we can most likely attribute that to her strong friendship with Kofi and her close relationship with his family. "Friends...how many of us have them?"

What an amazing, sexy, and heart-felt friends-to-lovers story this was!💖


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page