top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeka L. Rascoe

Sweet and Sexy...Like Brown Sugar Baby


This book was sexy, sultry, smooth and yes...sweet as brown sugar. I positively loved the characters, Shiloh and Marquis. Before I began reading their story, I mentioned on my Instagram page that the blurb gave me Love Jones vibes (Larenz Tate, Nia Long), and I wasn't wrong. Our heroine, Shiloh takes to the stage and allowed her beautifully written poetry to spring freely from deep within her soul. Marq couldn't help but be entranced and completely mesmerized by words that flowed effortlessly from the depths of her heart. And Marq. Even though I didn't hear him sing, I could hear him sing. You know what I mean?! The author's imagery was absolutely amazing when describing what it was like when Marq was up on that stage. I closed my eyes and imagined a "Maxwell-esque" voice reaching out to Shiloh through the crowd.

In the six months that he’d been performing here, he’d become a guilty pleasure of mine. There was something about his acoustic renditions of songs that ignited a fire within my soul. He had a special mystique that pulled me in like a magnet every time he entered the room...

Shiloh was my brown sugar. Sweet, addictive, and she provided me with a high I hadn’t felt since I was a young boy running wild trying to ignore the grief I was experiencing after losing my mother.

There was no denying that Marq and Shiloh had amazing chemistry. The heat crackled between them like logs on a constantly stoked fire, and they were drawn to each other from the moment their voices were heard.

What I enjoyed most about this couple was their instant connection, their deep conversations, and the way they were so comfortable opening up to each other. I loved the realness of these characters, and it was so refreshing to see them own up to the mistakes of their pasts without sounding bitter, or wallowing in self-pity. I loved that neither of them felt it necessary to pass judgment on each other.

I wish their story wasn't so short though. I know it was a novella, but it would have been more satisfying if Shiloh's good-for-nothing ex had been dealt with accordingly for all the trouble he caused or tried to; especially when she was merely trying do the right thing and not fall back into her pattern of terrible men. I hate that she had to suffer from his vile behavior, but her silver lining definitely came in the form of the suave and charming, Marquis.

This novella was simply divine.💖

6 views0 comments
bottom of page