top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeka L. Rascoe

Moonshine, Tailgates, and Good Lovin' on Dusty Roads

Updated: Nov 4, 2021


Lucy Score and Claire Kingsley writing together?! It just does NOT get any better than that! This dynamic duo have combined their fantastic writing talents to bring readers and fan-girls all over a hot, new, highly anticipated romance series, Bootleg Springs. EEEP!!

The ingenious (and ever witty) Lucy Score kicks off this awesome collaborative series with Whiskey Chaser, and it is nothing short of amazing! This book is hilarious, it's sexy, heck . . . it's a whole bag of tacos and then some! LOL!

"Where'd you learn to kiss like that?"

"Like what?"

"Like I'm the only girl in the world you want to kiss."

I SMILED.

I LAUGHED.

I LAUGHED OUT LOUD . . .UNTIL I CRIED.

I FELL IN LOVE.

I COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN!

Our heroine, Scarlett Bodine is one of the most infectiously lovable Lucy Score characters ever. Scarlett is the kind of girl who knows what she wants and is not afraid to be herself. She's quite the little firecracker, but she's also the All-American girl next door. LITERALLY. She's the girl next door! LOL! Scarlett is so witty, lots of fun, and quite frankly, a breath of fresh air . . . with a "shot of whiskey," of course. I love that she's sexy as heck and a tomboy to boot. This book brings back so many memories of my own childhood with my brothers, where I hung out with the boys, doing all the things boys did--only better! Did I mention that I absolutely adore Scarlett Bodine and want to be her bestie?!

Devlin McCallister, our hero, has arrived in Bootleg Springs a little worse for wear with the hopes of recovering in peace from a series of dramatic life events. However, it isn't long before he's caught under the spell that is Scarlett Bodine.

"Scarlett laughed, and it sounded like the twitter of birds on a sunny Sunday morning. The light in her laughter turned something on inside of me."

Scarlett has decided to make it her mission to aid in Devlin's recovery, but I don't think she was counting on how much Devlin would end up helping her in return. Devlin's vulnerability and beautiful heart won me over the same way it won over our heroine. He was there for Scarlett in ways she never experienced before, and that, I think, took our little Firecracker Bodine by surprise.

"He made me feel mysterious, interesting, and sexy. Things I couldn't feel on a daily basis around the people I'd known my whole life . . . when he touched me, it felt like I had straight whiskey flowing through my veins . . . I watched him walk back down the porch steps--the same steps that I'd bounded down in a bid to run away from home twice in my teens--and fell just a little, tiny bit in love with Devlin McCallister."

Whiskey Chaser is a great start to this Bootleg Springs series. It had everything--lots of laughter and good times, and then there were the right-in- the-feels moments that made my heart crack wide open; the moments that made me want to gather up and hug all the Bodine kids.

I just can't say it enough. I loved everything about this book--the town, its rich, colorful history, the community spirit and families--especially Scarlett's super meddlin', overprotective, "cockblockin'" brothers! I practically hollered about the way they deliver their own brand of justice--Bootleg Justice that is . . . LOL!

Whiskey Chaser is such an awesome book, and I'm super excited for what's to come in the rest of this series.

14 views0 comments
bottom of page