top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeka L. Rascoe

Review: Zane, Inked Brotherhood Series

Updated: Nov 4, 2021


Title: Zane: Inked Brotherhood Series, Book 3

Author: Jo Raven

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Published: November 2, 2014

Format: Paperback/eBook

Source: Amazon

Rating: 5 Amazing Stars

In Jo Raven's Zane, readers are allowed a more in-depth look at the man who is responsible for keeping the Inked Brotherhood together.

Without a doubt, Zane Madden is a tough, but caring young man who is the group's backbone. They all look to him for the help and support

they need to get through each day. He's always there for the others, willing and ready to jump in at the drop of a dime. These guys barely survived foster care, and while they may not be biological family, they are a true family in every since of the word.


The guys that make up Raven's Inked Brotherhood Series like to call Zane, the "Zen-man." However, deep down inside he is far from being even remotely close to zen. Zane carries emotional and physical scars that prevent him from letting anyone get too close. That is, until he meets the young and beautiful Dakota. Like Zane, she also struggles with her own kind of emotional trauma.

When I began this story, I honestly did not expect to be drawn in so deeply, so quickly; nor was I prepared to be held captive by the way this author brilliantly writes the emotions and pain surrounding Zane Madden. He's been trying to shake loose the memories of being abandoned as a child. Although Zane is the glue that keeps his family strong, he is barely keeping it together with everything that's going on in his own life. It's as if he's almost paralyzed with the fear of losing his adopted sister--the first person in his life to reach out to him and take him in once she aged out of the foster care system. Emma, who is also Matt Hansen's wife (Caveman), is in a losing battle with cancer, and understandably, this pushes Zane closer to his breaking point.

"There's no record of the person who abandoned me behind a dumpster . . . When I was little . . . I imagined my mother . . . I imagined her walking through the streets, looking for me. Calling my name. Took me years to realize how stupid that fantasy was. See, I have no past and no family. I have no one. Except for Emma, my adopted sister. And now she's leaving me, too . . . Emma . . . I want her to get well. I want a miracle. I want things to go back to how they were a few months ago. I want . . . How the hell am I supposed to look out for anyone when my world is crashing down?"

Overwhelmed doesn't seem to cover the myriad of emotions that are threatening to rip Zane apart. He's struggling, using women and alcohol to numb the pain. However, in the midst of all the darkness surrounding him, he meets Dakota--and she's his light. Zane's feelings for her seem unexpected, and he can't help himself. He looks forward to seeing her, wanting to spend time with her. He's enticed by Dakota's beauty and caring spirit, and believes that it's because she doesn't come from the kind of world in which he grew up.

". . . She has no dark past, remember? She's clean of misfortune, clear like crystal. Maybe that's what draws me to her, the promise of pure calm and pleasure . . . taking my mind off all the s*** lurking in the corners of my head. This is just what I need. Perfect diversion. But something in my chest clenches, and sweat breaks on my face. What's this? It's as if she's scaring me, and that's bulls**** . . . Maybe it's because she's different from what I'm used to."

Dakota is just as drawn to Zane as he is to her. Regardless of what she feels for him, it's clear that she has some issues she's dealing with as well.

"Bad idea or not, everything about him draws me close, including his demons. Including his tattoos, his piercings and his Mohawk, his Inked Brotherhood and absent family . . . Okay, so Zane is a walking wet dream, and I want him badly. But what I want most is to break through his walls and see the real him. To crack the enigma that is Zane. I've been duped by appearances before--I think of Collin, and I shudder. I remember the hurt of his betrayal, then the fear as he pushed me, the terror of falling, the pain... And the despair that followed."

This is what I admire about Jo's writing in this story. She has the ability to make me feel just as deeply, and make me care just as much about a character's inner struggles and suffering as I would about the actual romance. The imagery she uses in creating strong emotions leap off the page, and all of it-- the fear, the pain, the suffering, even the chemistry--is beautiful and powerful.

"Some memories are hazy. And some are too damn clear. I do my best to bury them deep, where they won't intrude on my everyday life. Just looking at me, you probably can't tell how close to the surface the nightmares live. But throw in a random trigger, and I'm drowning in the past. It's like flicking a switch, opening the gate and letting the horror in. Icy water. Hands like vises digging into my arms and legs. No air. Suffocation. Panic. The certainty I'm gonna die. That no matter how hard I struggle, I won't make it. Yet I still try. I always try to escape. And I always fail. "

Jo's writing of such poignant scenes like this and others grabbed a hold of my heart and gripped it tightly. Her words pulled me along every step of the way, and it was like being caught in a torrent of emotions. Zane's memories were alive, his pain--so real--and when the feelings of terror hit him--I could feel that too. The nightmares would threaten to overtake him, overtake Dakota, and I could feel my heart drop into the pit of my stomach. It's incredible when a writer takes me on a powerful and emotional roller coaster ride never to be forgotten.

Not only am I in awe of Jo Raven's talent in capturing the essence of real and raw emotions, but I am impressed with the way she designs a passionate, romantic, and sexy atmosphere where young love can take root. Their scenes definitely get a off-the-charts rating on the hotness scale. The way these two look at each other is so intense, it's enough to set their world on fire.

I'm still leaning on Zane's strong chest, struggling to breathe, reduced to a puddle of pleasure. Holy s***, this boy knows how to play music on my body. I'm still thrumming everywhere, still clenching inside. When I stare into his hooded dark eyes, the pupils are blown to hell with need . . . He's so beautiful, so hot, I want to grab his face and kiss him senseless . . .

"Oh God, Zane is kissing me, really kissing me, with tongue and teeth and all, like he's dying of hunger . . . And all the while, his hand is in my hair . . . keeping me where he wants me. Keeping the kiss under his control."

"She shivers under my hands . . . now I think I smell honey. My mouth waters. I bend closer and press my mouth to the top of her tattoo, on her spine. The air leaves her lungs in a low moan, and the pen drops from my fingers. I wrap my arms around her . . . My whole body tightens. I feel as if I've never touched a woman before . . ."

Once Zane and Dakota give in to each other, they don't hold back. Their chemistry is strong and absolutely undeniable.

Every once in a while, I find a young couple in a book that makes me ponder the decisions of my youth. Was I this mature at their age? Zane and Dakota, in some ways, seem wise beyond their years. I find it fascinating that these two learn things by simply observing, and being closely attentive to one another. They have a true desire to want to know each other inside and out. Dakota and Zane's interactions are quite eye-opening as they both become increasingly protective of each other. Except for a few hiccups along the way, they seem to handle the ups and downs of their relationship with quite a bit of maturity.

Jo Raven's writing of Zane blew me away. She perfectly tells a story about two young souls forming a connection that leads them on the path to healing. Their chemistry is both sweet and amazing. Dakota, with her "slight curves, wild dark hair, large blue eyes" is strong and smart, and she gives Zane the space he needs, when he needs it. She doesn't ask too many questions, but allows him to gradually open up to her, and surprisingly he does. Dakota comforts him and takes care of him in a way no one ever has before.

"Pain. I can't just leave when he's in pain. He did ask me to stay. And as

always when it comes to Zane Madden, I throw all caution to the wind, and do crazy stuff. Like staying when I should run . . .

". . . I want him to lean on me, desire to be with me. I want him to trust me enough to look at me as he touches me and kisses me. And I have a feeling he'd be worth it."

"Her light honeyed scent calms me. I don't know what the hell I am supposed to do or say, except put my arms around her too and close my eyes for a moment. The tension that's been keeping me rigid for days melts away and weirdly, as I sag heavily against her, I feel like I'm floating."

"Just want to take care of you," she whispers.

Dakota is understanding and patient with Zane. She knows exactly when or how to push him, but she also knows when to back away. Zane is astonished that his demons haven't sent Dakota running away; that she's willing to be there for him. I see and feel the beauty in their young love. Dakota and Zane become each other's rock, and this why they are perfect for each other.

This story is written with so much passion, so much emotion, I couldn't tear myself away even if I wanted to. There's just something about a hero who is strong and capable, but perfectly flawed by a dark, troubled past. And just when he seems like he's at the end of his rope, the author creates the perfect heroine for him. She is just as strong as she is beautiful, and willing to love the hero despite the nightmares

that plague him. Zane's story is so emotionally powerful, I'm curious to learn more about the others in this family that was formed from a connection of having similar pasts. I have no doubt that Jo Raven has done a remarkable job in telling the others' stories as she did here with Zane and Dakota. I eagerly look forward to catching up with each and every member of the Inked Brotherhood.

Ratings

5 Stars: Excellent! Amazing! Get your copy now!

4 Stars: Liked it a lot! Reading recommendations!

3 Stars: Pretty good!

2 Stars: Just okay...

1 Star: Sorry, but this wasn't very good...

31 views0 comments
bottom of page